Menu Login Ticket basket   Search

Sargent: Sonatas: The Florentine Arts Ensemble

Join us for a musical evening celebrating Sargent: The Watercolours. Sargent’s fascination with the Impressionist movement resulted in lifelong friendships with Monet and his wider circle of musical friends, including Fauré and Debussy.  We present a programme of works for violin and piano by these celebrated French composers, alongside the Impressionistic sound world of Szymanowski's Myths.  Interspersed during the evening will be recollections of Sargent's pianistic skills, including those of his lifelong friend and musical duo partner, the American violinist Charles Loeffler.

Full Programme:

Gabriel Faure (1845-1924), Sonata no.1 in A major, Op.13

  1. Allegro molto
  2. Andante

III. Allegro vivo

  1. Allegro quasi presto


Karol Szymanowski (1882-1937), Myths, Op. 30

  1. Fountain of Arethusa
  2. Narcissus

III. Dryads and Pan

Claude Debussy (1862-1918), Sonata in G minor

  1. Allegro vivo
  2. Intermède, fantasque et léger

III. Finale: Très animé

Image: Liv-Marie Kodurand © Melanie East Photography

Related events

Event details

Start date
30 July 2017
Exhibition and collection: 6.30 - 7.15pm. Concert: 7.30pm
£20, £18 Friends & Concessions, £6 under 18s. Including exhibition ticket: £25, £20 Friends & Concessions, £6 under 18s.